Blog Page


ECE Newsletter Fall 2021 | Electrical and Computer Engineering | UC Santa Barbara – UCSB ECE

Letter from B.S. Manjunath, ECE Chair: “We just completed a very unusual yet highly productive 2020-21 academic year…”
In Memoriam: George L. Matthaei (1923 – 2020) – faculty member from 1964 to 1991 – over his 27 years he saw a small engineering school grow into a large college of engineering
Spotlights: New Faculty — Kerem Camsari & Bongjin Kim (CE) and Nina Miolane (CSP); Faculty Mentorship — Galan Moody (EP); Graduate Student Spotlight — Hoontaek Oh (CSP); Alumni — Archie Holmes, EVC for Academic Affairs, U. Texas Systems
Research: ECE Research Initiatives — Professor John Bowers (EP), PI Optoelectronics Research Group and Assistant Professor Zheng Zhang (CE), PI The Zhang Group
Alumni: Tanya Das, Chief of Staff of the U.S. Office of Science; José Hernández, former NASA Astronaut
Recognitions: Faculty Awards — K. Camsari, J. Bowers, Steve DenBaars, Y. Isukapalli, N. Jayant, J. Klamkin, G. Moody, B. Parhami, R. Pedarsani, M. Rodwell, Z. Zhang. Student Awards — Outstanding Seniors (N. Mir – EE & A. Lu – CE); Outstanding TAs (R. Karnaty – EE & B. Dong – CE); Hynes-Wood Award (A. Semma – CE); University Award of Distinction (A. Semma – CE); Ed Hass Outstanding Junior Award (E. O’Mahony – CE); Kroemer Dissertation Fellowship (M. Saeidi – EE); Roger Wood Scholarship Award (V. Benenati & C. Jenkins – CE and D. Hernandez-Vitela & A. Patino – EE); and 2020-21 ECE Donors & “Invest in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering”
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
College of EngineeringUC Santa Barbara
2021 © Regents of the University of California


× How can I help you?