IT Blog


Four Finalists Selected for Chancellor Position | University of Arkansas – University of Arkansas Newswire

Top from left in order of planned appearance: Charles F. Robinson and Jay T. Akridge; bottom: Daniel A. Reed and Cynthia Y. Young
LITTLE ROCK — University of Arkansas System President Donald R. Bobbitt announced Friday, Sept. 2, four finalists in the national search for the next chancellor of the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.
Selected with the help of a search committee chaired by U of A engineering Dean Kim Needy, Ph.D., the finalists will each visit campus for two days of meetings with students, faculty, staff and university stakeholders. As part of their visit, each candidate will participate in a public forum on campus that will also be live streamed and recorded for broad access to the campus community.
The finalists, in order of their scheduled public forums, include:
“I couldn’t be more pleased that these four distinguished individuals have accepted our invitation to visit the University of Arkansas as finalists in the search for our next chancellor,” Bobbitt said. “A national leadership search presents an opportunity to test the reputational quality of an institution, and the quality and diversity of our four finalists show that the U of A is very well regarded on the national stage. I want to especially thank Dean Kim Needy and our search committee members for their hard work and dedication to this process, which has yielded a strong result heading into these campus visits. We look forward to getting to know the finalists more in the coming weeks.”
More detailed information on each finalist, including CVs and application cover letters, as well as dates, times and additional details regarding each candidate’s public forum will be communicated to the campus community and posted on the chancellor search website.
Registration details for the public forums will be communicated to the campus community prior to each visit and included on the search site. The search site will also be updated with details regarding how the campus community can access recordings of the forums as soon as the recordings are available.
(in order of scheduled visits)
Charles F. Robinson, Ph.D.
Interim chancellor, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Named interim chancellor in August 2021, Robinson has served in numerous roles at the U of A during the past 23 years, beginning as an assistant professor of history in 1999 and including director of the African and African American Studies Program, vice provost for diversity, vice chancellor for student affairs and as provost and executive vice chancellor for academic and student affairs. During his time at the U of A, he has led several projects focused on student recruitment and success, including a college readiness program for underrepresented students, a major restructuring of the Division of Student Affairs and a $10 million scholarship effort for first-generation, low-income Arkansans. Robinson holds a bachelor’s degree in history from the University of Houston, a master’s degree in history from Rice University and a doctorate in history from the University of Houston.
Jay T. Akridge, Ph.D. 
Provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity, Purdue University
Akridge serves as provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity at Purdue University, with a faculty appointment as professor of agricultural economics. He leads the academic enterprise of the university with a total budget of approximately $1.8 billion, student enrollment of more than 50,000, and 2,700 faculty members and 8,000 staff. As provost, he has led the university’s enrollment growth initiative and expanded undergraduate enrollment from 31,000 in 2017 to near 38,000 in 2022. Formerly the dean of agriculture at Purdue for more than eight years, Akridge earned a bachelor’s in agriculture and business administration from Murray State University before completing his master’s and doctorate in agriculture economics at Purdue.
Daniel A. Reed, Ph.D.
Presidential professor in computational science, University of Utah
Reed is the presidential professor in computational science at the University of Utah, where he previously served as provost and senior vice president for academic affairs. He helped launch the For Utah scholarship, which diversified the student body and broadened access for first-generation students, and spearheaded the 1U4U cross-campus research initiative. Previously, Reed was the university chair in computational science and bioinformatics and professor of computer science, electrical and computer engineering, and medicine at the University of Iowa, where he was vice president for research and economic development. Reed is also the former corporate vice president for technology policy and extreme computing for Microsoft. He earned a bachelor’s in computer science at Missouri University of Science and Technology and a master’s and Ph.D. in computer science at Purdue University.
Cynthia Y. Young, Ph.D.
Founding dean of the College of Sciences, Clemson University
Young is the founding dean of Clemson University’s new College of Sciences where she has led the effort to create the college’s strategic roadmap, SCIForward, and worked to increase student success and elevate Clemson’s status as an R1 institution through increased faculty productivity and doubled external research funding. Previously, Young spent 20 years at the University of Central Florida where she served in several leadership roles, including as vice provost for faculty excellence and UCF Global, associate dean for the College of Sciences and cofounder of the UCF EXCEL student retention program. Young earned her bachelor’s in education from the University of North Carolina and a master’s in mathematical science from UCF before completing a master’s in electrical engineering and Ph.D. in applied mathematics at the University of Washington.
Nate Hinkel, director of communications
UA System
501-686-2951, nhinkel@uasys.edu
Performances will include the Cerqua Rivera Dance Theater, songwriter and trombonist Aubrey Logan, The Kingston Trio and seasonal shows by the U of A Department of Music.
The four finalists in the national search for the next chancellor of the U of A will each participate in a public forum, which will also be streamed live and recorded.
The Pat Walker Health Center's department of Wellness and Health Promotion has transitioned into three different departments in the Division of Student Affairs.
Sara Barnett-Nsakashalo, a doctoral student in the Adult and Lifelong Learning Program, was awarded the top scholar award at this year's Muscogee Nation Festival Scholars Forum for her dissertation work.
Phillip Owens, research leader and research soil scientist with the USDA and the Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center in Booneville, has been named a Fellow of the Soil Science Society of America.