Blog Page


Infosys Prize 2022 awarded to researchers in six categories – The Hindu

To enjoy additional benefits
January 07, 2023 09:20 pm | Updated 09:21 pm IST – Bengaluru
Rohini Pande (Social Sciences) Suman Chakraborthy , (Engineering & Computer Science) Sudhir Krishnaswamy (Humanities) Mahesh Kakde (Mathematical Sciences) Vidita Vaidya (Life sciences) and Nissim Kanekar, the winners of Infosys Prize during the photo session in Bengaluru on Saturday, January 7. | Photo Credit: BHAGYA PRAKASH K.
The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) on Friday awarded the winners of the Infosys Prize 2022 for their contributions to research.
The winners, across categories such as Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences, were felicitated with gold medal, a citation, and a prize purse of USD 100,000, by Prof. Shafi Goldwasser, Turing Award laureate and Director, Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing.
IFS said that the work of the winners has potential impact in the areas of accessible healthcare and diagnostics, inclusive economic and social policy design, a better understanding of our mental health and how our Constitution protects India’s democratic polity.
“Science, mathematics, and engineering are the theoretical foundation and practical engines for knowledge and technology that is changing the world, making us globally connected, pushing forward medical advances, improving our energy usage and infrastructure, and fundamentally enlarging our understanding of the cosmos and the world around us,” said Prof. Goldwasser. She added that she was in awe of what the Indian scientists have given the world.
Kris Gopalakrishnan, President, Infosys Science Foundation, said that the work of the prize winners is inspiring a new generation of researchers while revolutionising the science and research landscape in India
“From exploring the frontiers of brain research and astronomy to developing solutions for the urgent healthcare needs of underserved populations to examining the notions of justice in a fast-changing world inundated by the climate emergency and pandemics, our laureates are working on the cutting edge of science, technology, and scholarship. Their work is inspiring a new generation of researchers while revolutionizing the science and research landscape in India,” he said.
Suman Chakraborty, Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur — Engineering and Computer Science.
Sudhir Krishnaswamy, Vice Chancellor of National Law School of India University, Bengaluru, — Humanities.
Vidita Vaidya, Professor and Chairperson, Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, — Life Sciences.
Mahesh Kakde, Professor of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, — Mathematical Sciences.
Nissim Kanekar, Professor, National Centre for Radio Astronomy, Pune, — Physical Sciences.
Rohini Pande, Henry J. Heinz II Professor of Economics and Director, Economic Growth Center, Yale University — Social Sciences.
BACK TO TOPBack to Top
Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.
We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.


× How can I help you?