Blog Page


Tucson Unified celebrates students who receive National Merit Scholarship Award – Arizona Education News Service

Tucson Unified School District is honored to announce that three students from University High School are winners of the National Merit Scholarship.
National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced over 1,200 additional winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges and universities. These Merit Scholar designees join more than 2,600 other college-sponsored award recipients who were announced in June.
Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program who will attend their institution. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.
This year, 155 colleges and universities are sponsoring over 3,800 Merit Scholarship awards.
Jisue Choi – NATIONAL MERIT CLAREMONT MCKENNA COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIP CMC has a liberal arts focus and seeks to educate its students for responsible leadership in business, government, and the professions. Jisue’s probable career field: Psychiatry

Rebecca B. Flach – NATIONAL MERIT FRANKLIN W. OLIN COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING SCHOLARSHIP. Olin College offers a multidisciplinary, project-based curriculum leading to a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical and computer engineering, mechanical engineering, or engineering. Rebecca’s probable career field: Software Engineering

Michael W. Wang – NATIONAL MERIT UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA SCHOLARSHIP. Michael’s probable career field: Computer Science

The Arizona Education News Service is a statewide source for fair, accurate, balanced and constructive journalism on education policy and practice in Arizona.


× How can I help you?